Manziel becomes first Freshman to Win Heisman Trophy

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Johnny Manziel. (File photo)

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel became the first freshman to win the prestigious Heisman Trophy on Saturday night in New York. Manziel captured 474 first place votes and 2,029 points to win over Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o who had 321 first place votes and 1,706 points. Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein finished third in the voting.

Manziel captured the attention of the football nation when he led his Texas A&M Aggies to an upset win over then top ranked Alabama in Tuscaloosa on November 10th. Manziel threw for 3,419 yards and 24 touchdowns, while running for 1,181 yards and scoring 19 more touchdowns, all as a freshman. The Heisman Trophy has been awarded for 78 years and not before tonight had a freshman won the award.