EAST ST. LOUIS, IL (KTVI) – Classes are filling up fast in Illinois for folks who want to get a Conceal Carry permit. They have to go through 16 hours of instruction before they can apply to the state. But some of those classes are already booked up.
It appears that many people in Illinois want to get a Conceal Carry permit. For Karen Morrow, it’s a matter of personal safety.
“I’m out by myself at night and just out and about and I thought since the law was being passed I would go ahead and take the class and apply for it in case I want to carry, I could,” she says.
At Metro Shooting Supplies in Belleville, the phone has been ringing as many as 50 times a day from people wanting to know about the Conceal Carry class. November and December are almost full so they’ve begun booking January.
Classes cost $300 and the state permit will set you back another $150.
“Illinois pricing for the permits is much higher than a lot of other states,” said Amy Chase, co-owner of Metro Shooting.
The class will spend a lot of time on the new law educating people where they can and not take a gun. And when should they draw a weapon.
Chase said, “We try to teach people that firing your gun should be an absolute last resort.”
Bob Morrow wants to take the class.
He said, “If criminals knew that a lot more people were carrying a gun there’s a lot less chance the bad guy is going to draw his gun.”
The first class at Metro Shooting Supplies begins Saturday. Early January is when people can start applying for their permits.