Where to watch Fox 2 News during the US Open and World Cup soccer

Yogi Berra among Presidential Medal of Freedom recipients

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Yogi Berra is interviewed at the Yogi Berra Museum in New York.

WASHINGTON, DC (KTVI)- President Barack Obama has named seventeen recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the Nation’s highest civilian honor. Among this year’s honorees is Hall of Fame catcher and St. Louis native, Yogi Berra, who will be honored posthumously.

Lawrence Peter “Yogi” Berra died September 22, 2015, at the age of 90. He grew up on Elizabeth Avenue on “The Hill.” He made his name in baseball in New York, winning 10 world championship teams with the Yankees. He managed in two other World Series, one each with the Yankees and New York Mets. Berra joined the Navy during World War II, fighting on D-Day and earning a Purple Heart. His mystifying utterances, or Yogisms, are widely known.

The Medal of Freedom is presented to individuals who have made “especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.” The awards will be presented at the White House on November 24, 2015.

Other 2015 Medal of Freedom recipients include musicians Emilio and Gloria Estefan,  Shirley Chisholm, the first African-American woman elected to Congress, composer and lyricist Stephen Sondheim, singer and actress Barbra Streisand,  and film director and producer Steven Spielberg. Click here for the full list.