Closings: Schools, churches, day-cares and businesses

Missouri Requests Disaster Declaration for Severe Storm Damage

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

JEFFERSON CITY, MO.  (KTVI) – Missouri Governor Jay Nixon has made a disaster declaration to the federal government, in response to the severe weather, tornadoes and flooding that struck 30 Missouri counties between May 29th to June 10th.

“Missourians have been hit with high repair costs as they work to recover, local communities and state agencies have been burdened with excessive response costs, and expenses for repairing destroyed infrastructure will be very high.” said Missouri Governor Jay Nixon.

Assessments of the damage have been done for 30 Missouri counties that include:

Barton, Callaway, Cape Girardeau, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Howard, Iron, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Maries, Marion, Miller, Montgomery, Osage, Perry, Pettis, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Shelby, Stoddard, Sullivan, St. Charles, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Texas, Vernon and Webster.

The governor has requested individual assistance for the following Missouri counties:

Callaway, Lincoln, Montgomery, Osage, Pike, St. Charles and St. Louis.

Public assistance allows local governments to seek assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with the severe weather and flooding; individual assistance means that eligible individuals and households can seek federal assistance for uninsured losses from severe weather and flooding.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.