MO counties eligible for federal assistance following flooding

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.


JEFFERSON CITY, MO (KTVI)- Governor Jay Nixon announced Friday that President Barack Obama has approved a request for a major disaster declaration for Missouri.  From August 2- 14, 2013, heavy rains brought significant flooding and flash flooding throughout much of the southern part of the state.

More coverage: 4-year-old dies in flooding; Gov. Nixon declares state of emergency

Federal assistance will be available for 18 Missouri counties allowing local governments and nonprofits to seek assistance for response and recovery expenses. Those counties include Barry, Camden, Cedar, Dade, Dallas, Laclede, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Osage, Ozark, Phelps, Pulaski, Shannon, Taney, Texas, Webster and Wright.

More coverage: Flooding closes I-44 in both directions; National Guard called in

Nixon also requested individual assistance for residents. That request is still under review.

Gov. Nixon declared a state of emergency in Missouri on Aug. 6, in response to the flooding. On Aug. 7  he ordered the deployment of Missouri National Guard Citizen-Soldiers and Airmen residents and local law enforcement.

More coverage: Businesses debate cleanup after Waynesville flash flooding

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.