Obama declares 15 Illinois Counties disaster areas

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

(KTVI) - President Obama has declared 15 Illinois counties as federal disaster areas after the deadly tornadoes last week. That makes storm victims eligible for loans and grants, to help with the cleanup.

Six people died in the storms across the state on November 17th. Nearly 800 homes were destroyed and more than 1,600 others were damaged. Nearly 1,000 of those still cannot be lived in.

Illinois senator mark kirk got an up-close look at the damage in Washington, Illinois.   He met with storm victims and city leaders and promised to keep politics from interfering with tornado relief efforts.

This afternoon Illinois Governor Pat Quinn will host a Thanksgiving lunch for tornado victims in Washington.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.