Missouri state senators pick leaders

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

JEFFERSON CITY, MO (AP) – Republicans and Democrats in the Missouri Senate have elected leaders for the 2015 session.

Majority Republicans on Thursday nominated Senate President Pro Tem Tom Dempsey to continue in that role. The nomination requires confirmation by the full chamber in January.

Senate Majority Leader Ron Richard of Joplin was selected for another term in that position.

Sen. Brian Munzlinger of Williamston will serve as majority whip and Sen. Eric Schmitt of Glendale was elected majority caucus chair.

Democrats elected Sen. Joe Keaveny of St. Louis as minority leader and Gina Walsh as assistant leader. Keaveny succeeds Jolie Justus, who is leaving the Senate after serving the maximum two terms.

Democratic senators also chose Maria Chappelle-Nadal of University City as whip and Kiki Curls of Kansas City as caucus chair.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.