Spirit of St. Louis – Pick Your Charity, Pick Your Car

Missouri receives major disaster declaration for summer flooding

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Governor Jay Nixon.

JEFFERSON CITY, MO (KTVI) – A major federal disaster declaration has been issued for 68 counties in Missouri as a result of prolonged flash flooding and severe storms across the state. This is the most for any disaster since the flood of 1993.

Local governments and nonprofit agencies in the 68 counties can seek federal assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with the flooding and severe weather.

The counties included in the federal public assistance disaster declaration are: Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Audrain, Barry, Bates, Benton, Buchanan, Caldwell, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Daviess, DeKalb, Douglas, Gentry, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Holt, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, McDonald, Macon, Maries, Marion, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Osage, Ozark, Perry, Pettis, Pike, Platte, Polk, Putnam, Ralls, Ray, Ste. Genevieve, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shannon, Shelby, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Washington, Webster, Worth and Wright.

The request for the declaration was made by Go. Nixon and approved by President Barack Obama.