Harrison re-elected to lead Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

KIRKWOOD, Mo. (AP) – The Rev. Matthew Harrison has been re-elected to a third term as president of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod.

Church officials said Wednesday that Harrison won 57 percent of the vote in the election that began over the weekend among pastors and select members of the laity. The Rev. Dale Meyer, president of Concordia Seminary in Clayton, Missouri, was second with 37 percent of the vote.

The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod is based in the St. Louis suburb of Kirkwood, Missouri, and includes 6,000 churches and about 2 million members.