Live Video: Maryland Heights Community Center Shooting Update

Disaster aid expanded to 6 additional Missouri counties

JEFFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) – Missouri residents hit by flooding or severe storms in six additional counties can now access federal aid.

Gov. Mike Parson on Tuesday announced the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved the state’s request to expand a federal major disaster declaration.

The newly included counties are Callaway, Jefferson, Lewis, McDonald, Newton, and Saline counties.

The declaration means residents hurt by flooding or storms from April 29 to July 5 can apply for help with temporary housing, home repairs and replacement of belongings.

President Donald Trump on July 9 approved federal disaster assistance for residents in 20 other counties. Parson’s office says so far, more than 1,000 households in those counties have received a total of close to $5 million in federal aid.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.