Change in Missouri vehicle safety inspection law takes effect

ST. LOUIS - Several new Missouri laws take effect on August 28. Among them are fewer inspections for vehicles.  According to the Department of Revenue, starting Wednesday, you don't need a vehicle inspection until your car is 10-years old or has more than 150,000 miles.

Currently, vehicles are exempt from biennial safety inspection requirements for the five years following the model year. Senate Bill 89 modifies the state law.

Also, processing fees related to driver licenses and vehicle title and registration transactions are also changing. The processing fee for a driver license or permit issued for three years or less is increasing from $2.50 to $6. That is according to House Bill 499

Hundreds of Missouri prisoners serving mandatory sentences for largely nonviolent offenses will become eligible for parole with a law that exempts some offenses from a requirement that people serve at least 40% to 80% of their prison terms.

The legislation also prohibits payment of jail debts from being made a condition of probation and bars people from being arrested and put back in jail for not paying previous jail costs.

Most laws passed by the Legislature this year go into effect Wednesday.

 

 

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.