This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

ST. LOUIS (KTVI) – The race for St. Louis City mayor continues to heat up. The election isn’t until the spring, but candidates are already making their intentions known.

Mayor Francis Slay, already the longest serving mayor in the city’s history, is taking himself out of the running after 16 years in office. The list of people hoping to succeed Slay has grown.

St. Louis City Treasurer Tishaura Jones will host a party Tuesday night to officially announce that she is running. Jones joins six others, including Missouri State Senator Jamilah Nasheed, who announced Monday that she had signed the paperwork to raise money for a mayoral race.

Also on the list is St. Louis City Collector of Revenue Gregory F.X. Daly and school board member Bill Haas, who has run several times in the past.

President of the St. Louis Board Aldermen Lewis Reed is back on the ballot as well after a failed bid to unseat Slay in 2013; Alderman Antonio French and Alderwoman Lyda Krewson round out the list of candidates.

St. Louis Police Chief Sam Dotson pulled his name from contention last week.

Slay has made no comments about who he thinks might be a good successor as of yet.