Astronaut, NBA star, singer among Order of Lincoln honorees


SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) _ Gov. J.B. Pritzker has named recipients of the 2020 Order of Lincoln. It is the state’s highest honor for professional achievement and public service.

Pritzker on Friday announced honorees Scott Altman, originally from Pekin, a former NASA astronaut; Paul “Doug” Collins of Benton, an NBA All-Star and coach and Robert “Robb” Fraley of Hoopeston (HOUPS’-tun), a former Monsanto Co. executive.

Other honorees are Donald F. McHenry of East St. Louis, former United Nations ambassador and permanent representative; Dr. Joanne C. Smith, president and CEO of the Shirley Ryan AbilityLab for physical medicine and rehabilitation and Chicago native Mavis Staples, a rhythm and blues and gospel singer and civil rights activist.

The recipients will be honored in April 2020 at Illinois State University in Normal.
Online: Recipients’ biographies:


Latest News

More News