Metro Area leaders move to ban events with 50 people in attendance, school districts closing

Data pix.

ST. LOUIS – As reports of the COVID-19 coronavirus spreading across the U.S. and locally in the St. Louis region,  health professionals and the leaders of the city of St. Louis Mayor Lyda Krewson, St. Louis County Executive Dr. Sam Page, St. Charles County Executive Steve Ehlmann, St. Clair County Board Chairman Mark Kern, and Madison County Board Chairman Kurt Prenzler have agreed ban all events of 50 people in attendance for the next 8 weeks.  They further stated that all public, private, charter, and parochial schools across all five jurisdictions close until further notice by Wednesday, March 18, 2020.

A spokesperson for the City of St. Louis said the decision will be reevaluated by April 3.

In light of the recommendation, all schools in the following districts in St.  Louis city and county have agreed to closed from Wednesday, March 18th through Friday, April 3rd for now. The closures cover all activities, athletic, extracurricular practices, and competitions.

All St. Charles County school districts will be closed from Monday, March 16th through Friday, April 3rd.

All Jefferson County schools will be closed from 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 17 through Monday, April 3rd.

Mineral Area school districts will close on Wednesday, March 18th through Monday, April 6th. The closure will include preschool programs.

The decision was made with guidance from the CDC (Center for Disease Control) on controlling the spread of COVID- 19.

Catholic schools will also be closing Wednesday, March 18th.

Tweets from the Archdiocese of St. Louis says:

The Archdiocese of St. Louis is closing all archdiocesan elementary and high schools—including all grades pre-K through 12—beginning Wednesday, March 18.

Pending continuing updates and guidance from local and state gov. and health officials, we have prelim. plans to resume school on Mon., April 6. All extracurricular activities at the schools will be postponed or canceled, including athletics. Stay tuned for more shortly.

List of the school districts:

  • Affton School District
  • Archdiocese of St. Louis Schools
  • Bayless School District
  • Brentwood School District
  • School District of Clayton
  • Ferguson Florissant School District
  • Hancock Place School District
  • Hazelwood School District
  • Jennings School District
  • Kirkwood School District
  • Ladue School District
  • Lindbergh Schools
  • Maplewood-Richmond Heights School District
  • Mehlville School District
  • Normandy School District
  • Parkway School District
  • Pattonville School District
  • Ritenour School District
  • Riverview Gardens School District
  • Rockwood School District
  • Special School District (SSD)
  • St. Louis Public Schools (including Charters)
  • University City School District
  • Valley Park School District
  • Voluntary Interdistrict Choice Corp
  • Webster Groves School District
  • Wentzville School District
  • All St. Charles County school districts
  • FOX C-6 School District
  • Northwest School District R-I
  • Crystal City 47
  • DeSoto 73
  • Dunklin R-V
  • Festus R-VI
  • Grandview R-II
  • Hillsboro R-III
  • Jefferson R-VII
  • Sunrise R-IX
  • Windsor C-1
  • Arcadia Valley R-II School District
  • Bismarck R-V School District
  • Central R-III School District
  • Farmington R-VII School District
  • Fredericktown R-I School District
  • Kingston K-14 School District
  • North St. Francois County R-I School District
  • Potosi R-III School District
  • Ste. Genevieve County R-II School District
  • Valley R-VI School District
  • West County R-IV School District
  • St. Paul Lutheran School


Latest News

More News