Missouri, Southern Illinois representatives voted along party lines in Trump impeachment


ST. LOUIS – The U.S. House of Representatives impeached President Donald J. Trump on Wednesday on a charge of incitement of insurrection by a 232-197 vote.

This does not remove the president from office, instead this will go to a trial in the Senate, but with less than a week until the president leaves office, Trump will likely stay in his office until the end of his term.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell has said he did not plan to bring the Senate back immediately to convict the president.

Several Republicans switched gears from the last impeachment vote, but no Missouri or Southern Illinois Republicans jumped on the “yea” vote.

Here is how each St. Louis-area lawmaker in the U.S. House of Representatives voted during Wednesday’s impeachment vote:

  • YEA – Cori Bush
  • NAY – Ann Wagner, Blaine Luetkemeyer, Vicky Hartzler, Jason Smith, Rodney David, and Mike Bost.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

About FOX 2 News

FOX 2 and KPLR 11 in St. Louis cover the news in Missouri and Illinois. There are over 68 hours of live news and local programming on-air each week. Our website and live video streams operate 24/7. Download our apps for alerts and follow us on social media for updates in your feed.

President Harry Truman said: “It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.” That spirit is alive and well at Fox 2. Our teamwork is on display each and every day.

Our news slogan is: “Coverage You Can Count On.” We quite frankly are too busy to worry about who gets the credit. Our main concern is serving the viewer.

We go where the stories take us. Whether it be Washington, D.C when a Belleville man opened fire during a congressional baseball game practice or to Puerto Rico where local Ameren crews restored power after more than 5 months in the dark.

Coverage You Can Count On means “Waking up your Day” with our top-rated morning show. From 4:00 am-10:00 am we are leading the way with breaking news. But our early morning crew also knows how to have some fun! Our strong commitment to the communities we serve is highlighted with our Friday neighborhood shows.

Our investigative unit consists of three reporters. Elliott Davis focuses on government waste, Chris Hayes is our investigative reporter, and Mike Colombo is our consumer reporter. They work in unison with the news department by sharing resources and ideas.

We continue to cover breaking news aggressively and relied on our seasoned journalists to make a difference with the stories we covered. The shooting of Arnold Police Officer Ryan O’Connor is just one example of that. Jasmine Huda was the only reporter who had exclusive access to the O’Connor family during his amazing rehabilitation in Colorado.

Last, but certainly not least, FOX 2 and KPLR 11 are committed to covering local politics. We host debates among candidates and have the most extensive presidential election coverage. Our commitment to politics isn’t just during an election year. We produce two political shows that air every weekend.


Latest News

More News

Tweets from reporters: