Missouri, other states support Texas effort to overturn presidential election


President Donald Trump (left) and President-elect Joe Biden (right). (Photos courtesy of Getty Image)

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – Missouri Attorney General Eric Schmitt and 16 other state attorneys general filed an amicus brief in support of an effort to overturn the election results in four key battleground states that all went for President-elect Joe Biden.

On Tuesday, Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton is asking the Supreme Court for permission to sue Georgia, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin over their voting practices and wants to nullify the results in those states.

The amicus brief from the attorneys general accuses the four states of abolishing safeguards to prevent mail-in voter fraud.

According to the Associated Press, Biden beat President Donald Trump by more than 80,000 votes in Pennsylvania, a state the president had won in 2016. Most of the mail-in ballots in the state were cast by Democrats.

The president and those in his inner circle have made numerous unsubstantiated claims of voter fraud and election impropriety throughout the country. The administration and its allies have filed—and lost—dozens of legal challenges seeking to overturn Biden’s victory.

Trump won the popular vote in the 17 states listed on the amicus brief all went for in the Nov. 3 election – Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and West Virginia. Note that one of Nebraska’s electoral votes will be awarded to Biden because the state splits its electoral votes by congressional district.

The Supreme Court has set a Thursday deadline for the four states to respond to Paxton’s claims.

Biden is projected to have defeated Trump in the Electoral College 306 to 232. Every state has certified its election results.

State electors are expected to meet around the country on Dec. 14 to vote and, thus, finalize the election results. These electors typically vote for the winner of their state’s popular vote. But throughout the country’s history, faithless electors have—on rare occasions—cast their votes for someone other than their state’s winner.

Correction: A previous version of this story stated California had not verified its election results. The Golden State certified its presidential results on Dec. 5; statewide election results will be certified Dec. 11.

FOX 2 Newsletters

Sign up for a newsletter from FOX 2 to get updates about news and weather. We offer daily headlines, breaking news, severe weather, and forecast emails.


Latest News

More News

Tweets from reporters: