ST. LOUIS – The National Weather Service issued a tornado watch Sunday for the bi-state region.

The watch will be in effect until 10 p.m. and covers 17 counties in southern Illinois and eight counties in eastern Missouri.

Illinois counties

  • Adams
  • Bond
  • Brown
  • Calhoun
  • Clinton
  • Fayette
  • Greene
  • Jersey
  • Macoupin
  • Madison
  • Marion
  • Monroe
  • Montgomery
  • Pike
  • Randolph
  • St. Clair
  • Washington

Missouri counties

  • Lewis
  • Lincoln
  • Marion
  • Pike
  • Ralls
  • St. Charles
  • St. Louis
  • St. Louis City

Meanwhile, the dynamic atmosphere is working itself out across the region, with a cold front and additional strong storm potential. But behind that front, there is calmer weather. Monday looks cooler, with highs in the upper 70s and lower 80s. Tuesday looks dry, too. Wednesday has another storm risk, but there is more calm coming after that chance. Temps are going to stay out of the extreme range and mostly below normal all week.