This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

ST. LOUIS, MO- Cardinals Manager Mike Shildt has only had the job since July, but voters deciding on the National League’s Manager of the Year decided he was more worthy than two of his colleagues who qualified for the 2018 postseason.

Results for the award were announced Tuesday night by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Atlanta’s Brian Snitker won the honor with a total of 116 points and 17 first place votes. Shildt, who went 40-28 after taking over when Mike Matheny was fired July 14, received 7 points, one better than Chicago’s Joe Maddon and Dave Roberts of Los Angeles.

The Cardinals went on an immediate hot streak and Shildt was named the team’s permanent manager August 28. A team that relied heavily on young pitching since June ultimately ran out of gas down the stretch and was eliminated from playoff contention in the season’s final week.

Complete vote totals are below:

Manager, Club                                                                   1st            2nd           3rd           Points
Brian Snitker, Braves                                                       17              9              4            116
Craig Counsell, Brewers                                                    11            13              5              99
Bud Black, Rockies                                                               1              6            18              41
Mike Shildt, Cardinals                                                                         2              1                7
Joe Maddon, Cubs                                                                 1                              1                6
Dave Roberts, Dodgers                                                                                        1                1